for our fathers…

If fatherhood has taught me anything, it’s that I am not perfect.  Not even close.  Many nights have been spent conferencing with my pillow, asking myself why certain situations with my kids produced the results they did.  After all, you’d think that spending all day every day helping other people’s kids would give me the skills to better manage my own children.  You’d think that, yet remaining enveloped within the positive ethos of parenting on a daily basis is not as easy as it looks. Still, we love our children and would move mountains to make their world a better place.  As my kids grow older and I with them, my appreciation for my father’s struggles and triumphs certainly has magnified, and my wishing him a Happy Father’s Day on the telephone becomes more special every year.  A treat which I know, sadly, will not last forever.

kidsWe dads are an interesting bunch.  It always makes me giggle a bit inside when a mom says “now I just need to convince my husband” of the need for Vision Therapy, as if convincing a father that improving his child’s life is worth the time and effort. Dads may not see the immediate need for therapy in the context of improved spelling or reading, but put it in terms of how Little League performances will soar, and they’re sold. Whether the financial protector, or the gatekeeper for allowable influences in their kid’s life, most dads seem to be the linchpin – a role that can be equal parts daunting and rewarding.

So on Father’s Day, this blog entry concludes with a single thought – a thank you – to my own father, to the father-like figures who have had an influence in my life, and to the fore fathers of Behavioral Optometry and Vision Therapy.  You all have made this wonderful life of mine possible.

Happy Father’s Day!

Posted on June 16, 2013, in From My Perspective.... Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. HAPPY FATHERS’ DAY to you Robert!
    Hope you had a happy day. This is the first FD without my dad so this was very timely.

    Like

    • Robert Nurisio COVT

      Thank you, Linda. I had no idea that you lost your father recently. So sorry for your loss. 😦 Sending you and Dr. Sanet a BIG hug from Texas!

      Like

Leave a Reply

