important perspective…

kind

I stumbled across this Huffington Post article while eating lunch today. Its title is 7 Things You Don’t Know About A Special Needs Parent. Admittedly it is not directly related to Vision Therapy, but it has everything to do with some of the children, and families, we treat. Growing up alongside a sibling with special needs, articles like this always touch my heart, as they offer a perspective on what my parents went through in raising my brother. Please take a few minutes to read it.

Happy Thursday!

Posted on August 22, 2013, in From My Perspective.... Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks, Robert, for the article. Gave me some ideas for ways to help out my friends and colleagues who have a special needs family member, and ways to ask good, helpful questions. What made me laugh, though, was the universal parental thought about the safety of ANYONE hurting our children. That “mama bear” or “papa bear” response seems to transcend any and all boundaries. J Roeber, COVT

    Like

    • Robert Nurisio COVT

      Thanks, Jenni. Funny you mention the “mama bear” thing, as my mom STILL has that active instinct for my brother, and he is in his mid 30’s.

      Like

Leave a Reply

