where credit is due…

When you’re in the business of helping others, praise and gratitude are pretty common. People appreciate what you do for them, your commitment to helping others, and the knowledge and hard work that goes into making their lives better.  Although these sentiments are usually received with much appreciation, they’ve always made me a bit uncomfortable since the spotlight has never been within my comfort zone. I’ve always thought the success belongs to the patient, not me. My job may put me in a position to help others, but in reality, much of what I do is playing games and asking lots of questions; both skills I’ve been refining since birth. I just do what I do, and hope like crazy that the people who come to see me feel the benefits. Truth be told, I’ve never wanted to have to get a real job that would require my sitting behind a desk all day, and thanks to Vision Therapy, it’s starting to look like that may happen for me.

The true warriors in all of this are the mothers.  The ladies who recognize their children’s challenges and go to great lengths to locate services that may help.  The ladies who defy the naysayers and pursue Vision Therapy for their kids even though they’ve been told it’s a waste of time. The ladies who sacrifice all they can and then some, to ensure their children’s quality of life is far beyond their own. The ladies who educate their kids, advocate for them, motivate them, discipline them, move mountains and walk to all edges of the earth to provide all they can. They are the heroes, the risk takers, the people who deserve the credit and accolades.  This year alone, I’ve met some incredible mothers whose dedication to their children’s success is award worthy. Yet few of them receive the proper credit for their efforts, although much credit is due.

With that, I’d like to wish my mom, your mom, and all the moms of the world – whether biological or surrogate – a very heartfelt…

Happy Mother’s Day 🙂

moms2

 

Posted on May 11, 2014, in From My Perspective.... Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. williamsandmintod

    Robert,
    How true and they do it 24/7 with must balance a level of emotional involvement which we don’t have to handle regardless of our level of attachment with our patients.
    Gary J. Williams

    Like

Leave a Reply

