Your Rights in New Jersey…

leftandu

If you’ve ever driven around New Jersey, you may be familiar with the term “jughandles”.  I’ll admit, the first time I heard the term I thought it was a joke, but as it turns out, they’re a real thing.  In the interest of traffic flow, and perhaps accident prevention, some of the more densely populated areas of the Garden State operate under the idea of “No Lefts Turns”. The method to their madness – if it’s ok to call it that – is that drivers should make three right turns, which equate to the desired “I wanted to turn left” direction.

Confused yet? If you are, you’re in good company!

jughandle-01-300x258

jughandles

As an “out-of-towner”, I’ve found some options to be a little less confusing, such as the more traditional off-ramp design pictured directly above. The net effect of this being a left turn.  I don’t understand the difference in stopping on-coming traffic for a left-turn signal versus stopping everyone for a cross-traffic signal, but what do I know? Guess I should have paid more attention in high-school geometry. Apparently, there’s not many Beyoncé fans around here. 😛

Now back to my story.

For last 24 hours I’ve been in New Jersey as the honorary guest of my buddy Cavin Balaster, as he delivers the keynote speech at the Annual Meeting for Brain Injury Alliance of New Jersey on Thursday. I was lucky enough to arrive a day early to visit the office of Dr. Michael Gallaway, and observe a great Vision Therapist in action, my dear friend, Debbie Killion COVT. I was also allowed to watch Dr. Gallaway perform an exam and Debbie even put me to work with a few patients, which I thoroughly enjoyed! Watching others in action is a great way to learn!

deb

Tomorrow the actual meeting begins, and as he always does, I’m confident that Cavin will deliver his message with his grace and elegance. I hear there will be a few other faces familiar to Developmental Optometry in attendance as well, but that’s for another post. This from the BIANJ website:

The goal of this one-day seminar is to provide continuing education on a variety of brain injury topics for professionals working with individuals with brain injury including case managers, physical therapists, neuropsychologists, speech and hearing pathologists, nurses, social workers, educators, and professionals working in the field of behavioral healthcare.

Should be a great day tomorrow! As I prepare to have dinner with Cavin and others tonight, I’m faced with one very important question:

Are they serious about the 65mph speed limit on the NJ Turnpike?

Posted on May 13, 2015, in From My Perspective.... Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Yes, jughandles are a NJ oddity, along with the ban on pumping your own gas! And YES…everyone drives reallllly fasssst-how come you couldn’t keep up with me?! But seriously, it was an honor to host you in our office-we will forever think of you every time we mention pepperoni pizza and burritos while reciting Split HC!

    Like

  2. Robert and Deb, we have “Jughandles” in my area of San Antonio but I had NO idea that’s what they are called:-). Thanks for educating me. And by the way, they drive me crazy. It would be really nice if someone pumped gas for me though!!!

    Like

  3. jzwillingcovt

    Ahhhh! Jug handles….. I avoid driving in Jersey whenever possible! But if you think the drivers are too fast there, you definitely don’t want to drive on Long Island without a helmet!

    Like

  4. The other place where you can’t pump your own gas is in Oregon – so we have that “out west” too….Great to see you two across the miles.

    Like

  5. Hey Robert, as soon as you figure this out please come help with with these “roundabouts” in Spain 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

